Easy win for Punjab against Chennai

Punjab Kings registered a comfortable victory in the only match under the Indian Premier League (IPL) held on Wednesday. Punjab won by 7 wickets against Chennai Super Kings.

Chennai’s target of 163 runs was met by Punjab with the loss of 3 wickets with 13 balls remaining. Jonny Bairstow scored 46 runs off 30 balls for Punjab. Similarly, Riley Russo scored 43 runs off 23 balls. Sam Karan scored 26 runs and Shashank Singh remained unbeaten with 25 runs. Opener Prabhasimran Singh was dismissed after scoring 13 runs.

Chennai’s Shardul Thakur, Richard Gleeson and Shivam Dubey took 1 wicket each.

Before that, Chennai lost the toss and got invited to bat first and added 162 runs losing 7 wickets in the scheduled 20 overs. For Chennai, captain Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 62 runs from 48 balls. Another opener Ajinkya Rahane scored 29 runs while Sameer Rizvi added 21 runs. Moeen Ali scored 14 runs and Mahendra Singh Dhoni scored 14 runs.

Harpreet Brar and Rahul Chahar took 2 wickets each while Kagiso Rabada and Arshdeep Singh took 1 wicket each for Punjab.

After the win, Punjab has climbed to the seventh position with 8 points from 10 matches. Chennai is fourth with 10 points from 10 matches.

Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals will meet in the only match of IPL tomorrow.